voo2do

June 15, 2008 at 9:17 pm 6 comments

http://voo2do.com

Voo2do is a free advanced task and priority management tool. It tracks priority, due date, and time estimates for each task entered. Organization is the identified property of voo2do that claims to make it a step above other online to-do lists and, currently in the development phase, is the feature that allows multiple users to view and edit multiple projects together. It is designed for those who work on many different projects, constantly jot down ideas to work on later, have a need to prioritize and to know where projects stand and what needs attention next.

Members can:

  • Organize tasks by project
  • Track time spent and remaining
  • Add tasks by email
  • Publish task lists
  • Access on web 24×7
  • Work asynchronously
  • Improve personal productivity

Voo2do works on Internet Explorer 6+, Firefox 1+, and Opera 8+. It works imperfectly on Safari. There is nothing to install. It is implemented using Perl, Apache, the Apache::PageKit web framework, the PostgreSQL database server, and copious amounts of client-side Javascript. (The last part of this description is far over my level of understanding.)

I signed up and found voo2do relatively easy to navigate. For my trial run, I entered information associated with this course as far as organizing tasks. I then tried to imagine an effective use of voo2do in relation to instruction. This is where it seemed cumbersome to me. I use the calendar feature on Outlook as my tech source for reminders to supplement my old fashioned pencil to date book method. From a student point of view, I entered information from this course on my voo2do account, as well. That was even more cumbersome to me, perhaps because there was so much more to organize. Using the resources provided on CTE (especially the activities organizational grids) serve me well. I found the added time to use voo2do, even though it was easy to enter the data, seemed redundant, considering my current satisfactory organizational methods. Accessing it on line seemed to be yet another extra step to me.

While I can not believe I am expressing this next statement, perhaps I don’t have enough various things to make voo2do an asset for me! I know I feel that as far as using it in my capacity as a teacher. However, I had a thought of using it to allow parents to access time line requirements and reminders related to long term projects, homework, etc. Families would simply need a password and remember to check the site. Perhaps it could be an additional support to the traditional paper reminders and/or teacher web page reminders. My perspective as a student in this and future courses is different if all members were using it, but I still struggle with grasping the need if we are using CTE, D2L, Black Board, etc.

Allowing members of various groups to edit and revise projects is currently limited to just allowing online access to the original document with the use of a password. Changes would have to be made in a word document after copying and pasting the original and sending the revisions as an email attachment. However, consideration is being given to updating that feature if there is enough demand expressed. (Writeboard, which I reviewed earlier, is a perfect tool for that group document application.)

Perhaps those who use the computer more often than I would better appreciate the functions of voo2do in helping them organize responsibilities and timing in their personal and work lives, but I think voo2do may be better served in the business world.

Entry filed under: Access, Personal.

WiZiQ MediaMax/The Linkup

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. becca14  |  June 16, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Vicki,
    Thanks for your honest opinion about your experience with voo2do. It is good to know this feature exists in case we ever need some type of organizational tool. Do you think this would be beneficial to a student with ADHD / organizational difficulties in middle / high school, especially if a teacher or parent could enter some of the information for them?

    Reply
  • 2. flofalatko  |  June 16, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Vicki,

    I have to say I like the name. That Voodoo you do! I do agree with you in that it doesn’t seem to offer enough to excite me in the way of an instructor. Thanks for your work.

    Flo

    Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  June 17, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Becca,
    Perhaps middle and high school students (ADHD and others) would benefit from voo2do, especially with teacher and parental support – it may extend the calendar/reminder feature on their cell phones! I have to step out of my box and realize how much more interactive students are with their computers than I am. As long as passwords and access aren’t an issue, it would probably work.
    Thanks,
    Vicki

    Reply
  • 4. drothman  |  June 17, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Hi Vicki, I just created an account too. Do you know if it is blocked by BCPS? I’m not very organized, so I’m going to give it a try and see if it helps me. I’ll keep you posted. The logo is very cute!

    Reply
  • 5. kellyjo4  |  June 17, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Vicki I think your suggestion of using this site with parents is a great idea. It certainly would give parents another source to look for information. I find that parents are always requesting more information even though we send it through flyers and emails so this could be one more place for them to look before needing to send a note to the teacher!

    Reply
  • 6. sgregory52  |  June 18, 2008 at 2:50 am

    Vicki,

    Thanks for being so open and honest about your experience with voo2do. Although this tool may not be applicable to those of us at the elementary level, as I read your description I could vision it being useful for school staff at the middle school and high school levels. It might be good in keeping track the multiple professional development meetings, classes, conferences, grade level meetings, observations, etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
     
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


